Activating Your Microsoft Class Team

Tags Teams

Overview

Microsoft Teams is an easy way to pull together a group to share, collaborate and communicate in one central location without the use of phone calls that take time away from our day or emails that can easily get buried.  From directly within Teams we can bring everyone together to share information, securely edit files live and at the same time, bring together Microsoft Office 365 apps (OneDrive, OneNote, Planner, Forms, etc) and third-party apps and websites in one place, tag members of the team in conversations or actions and customize the work through adding notes (OneNote and others) and other applications.  

Each semester, the Office of Information Technology will be automatically creating, and populating your Class Teams for you.

Here is a quick overview of getting started with your Class Team.

For a more in-depth walk-through with Microsoft Teams, view the Tech Talk video training.

Getting Started with your Class Team

  1. When you launch Microsoft Teams, you will see new Teams in your list that match the course code for the classes you are teaching.
  2. When you click on the Class Team, you will be presented with a dialog box that tells you that your Team awaits!  Click OK!

  3. You will see across the top of the team the different tabs, as well as that you have students who are waiting to gain access to your Class Team.  At this point, your Team is ready for you to use, and Activate for your students.


     
  4. Before you click Activate, you have a decision to make.  How are you going to use this Team?

    This is important.  Because you can pre-populate all of the resources, but no one will get any notifications until you click "Activate."  You can activate the Team, then they will get resources - however - if you they see it and go into the Team before you are done, the students may be confused.
  5. Once you've made your choice, and have your Team ready - click Activate.  Your students will have access to the Team, and have the Team show up for them in their Team list.

Note: You may add, and remove students from your Teams.  However, if they are still listed in Jenzabar as being enrolled in the course, they will be readded by the automated process when it runs.

Details

Article ID: 114258
Created
Wed 8/19/20 1:07 PM
Modified
Wed 8/19/20 2:45 PM