Microsoft Teams: Setting Meeting Options in Teams Meetings

Overview

Microsoft Teams is an easy way to pull together a group to share, collaborate and communicate in one central location without the use of phone calls that take time away from our day or emails that can easily get buried.  From directly within Teams we can bring everyone together to share information, securely edit files live and at the same time, bring together Microsoft Office 365 apps (OneDrive, OneNote, Planner, Forms, etc) and third-party apps and websites in one place, tag members of the team in conversations or actions and customize the work through adding notes (OneNote and others) and other applications.  

Setting options in meetings is an important step to making sure you have the most control over the meeting while it is in progress.

For a more in-depth walk-through with Microsoft Teams, view the Tech Talk video training.

Teams Meeting Options

This article assumes you already know how to schedule a meeting, and work in the Teams Calendar:

  1. After you have scheduled the meeting, go back into the meeting in the Teams Calendar.
  2. Click on Meeting Options near the top.


     
  3. This will open a web browser window, that will display the Meeting Options page for your meeting.


     
  4. There are 4 basic areas you can set.  Note: A guest in this context is defined as someone who is purposefully invited to the meeting, no matter their email address.  If they are not invited, they are considered an external attendee.
     
    Who can bypass the lobby? Everyone: Allows everyone in the meeting immediately upon joining, including starting it if you are not there
    People in my organization. trusted organizations, and guests: Allows anyone with an @cedarcrest.edu, trusted organizations in our Office tenant in the meeting immediately upon joining, and anyone purposefully invited to the meeting - including starting the meeting if you are not there.
    People in my organization and guests: Allows anyone with an @cedarcrest.edu t in the meeting immediately upon joining, and anyone purposefully invited to the meeting - including starting the meeting if you are not there.
    Only Me: Only you get directly into the meeting, and start it.  Everyone else has to wait in the lobby for you to admit them.
    Always let callers bypass the lobby On or off - On allows people calling on the phone to bypass the lobby.  Off means you have to admit them when they join.
    Announce when callers join and leave This is an audible announcement similar to "New caller has joined the meeting" whenever someone on the phone joins.
    Who can present? Everyone: Allows everyone in the meeting to be able to take control of presenting at any time in the meeting.
    People in my organization: Allows anyone with an @cedarcrest.edu in the meeting to be able to take control of presenting at any time in the meeting.
    Specific People: Allows you to select who can be a presenter in the meeting, others will not be able to.
    Only Me: Only you can present, and control audio within the meeting.  Attendees can still unmute themselves, but only you will be able to mute them.


     


     

Details

Article ID: 115655
Created
Fri 9/4/20 12:56 PM
Modified
Tue 2/23/21 9:59 AM